Tag

, , , , , , , ,

Lately after updating my Sophos Antivirus signatures to 7.2.7c, Sophos Antivirus become slowing down my mac. So then I decide to disabling it. Just disabling it, not uninstall it because somehow maybe I still need it at the future.

Sophos need updating the virus signature just for installing, and i had lot of updating.
So I don’t want to just wasted my already ‘huge’ downloaded signature files. I just need to disable it, so won’t slowing down my mac, and when I need it I can re-enable it.

So here we are, the steps:

  • Open finder and locate to /Library/LaunchDaemons/ we will find three daemon file that used by Sophos Antivirus.

com.sophos.autoupdate.plist
com.sophos.intercheck.plist
com.sophos.notification.plist

  • Now that we have our target. open terminal, and edit those three files with nano

sudo nano /Library/LauchDaemon/com.autoupdate.plist

Locate to array key OnDemand and change the value like this:

</array>
<key>OnDemand</key>
<true/>
<key>KeepAlive</key>
<false/>
  • Save and quit, repeat for other files com.sophos.intercheck.plist and com.sophos.notification.plist
  • Now if you restart your mac, you will have sophos engine disabled. A this stage, actually sophos doesn’t slowing down my mac anymore, but the SophosUIserver is still running and show its icon on menu bar. Even this UIserver doesn’t really take much resources, but you can disable it if you want
  • Open system preferences, locate to account -> login items, klik the lock button to unlock the changes. Click login items, and we will found Sophos UIserver. Delete it.

In case you want it back, just add new loginitems from:

/Library/Sophos Anti-Virus/SophosUIServer.app

 
<ul%